Main Menu 1

You are here

Home » Grants & Funding » Courthouse Preservation Grant Program

Courthouse Preservation Grant Program

Garfield County Courthouse, PomeroyIn spring of 2005, the Washington State Legislature established the Historic County Courthouse Rehabilitation Grant program. Based on findings from a statewide survey undertaken in 2003, 33 of the state’s 39 counties were found to possess courthouses of historic and architectural merit.  Additionally, the study estimated over $90 million in needed capital improvements to these structures. To address this need, the Washington State Legislature has allocated nearly $21 million from the state capital budget since the 2005-07 biennium.  Through eleven funding rounds since the program’s establishment, sixty-six (69) grants have been awarded to twenty-six counties statewide. Grant funds have worked to leverage local funding resulting in over $53.5 million in total rehabilitation work to selected courthouses. 

Twelfth Round of Historic County Courthouse Rehabilitation Grant Awards Announced

The Department of Archaeology & Historic Preservation along with the Courthouse Grant Program Steering Committee is seeking grant applications for the 2023-2025 biennium.  Projects should focus on rehabilitating character-defining features of courthouses while also addressing needs such as energy efficiency, life safety, seismic retrofits and improvements to access.  The Courthouse Steering Committee will review all applications received, prioritizing them based on the degree each meets the program criteria.  Distribution of grant awards will be contingent on program funds being allocated in the 2023-2025 Capital Budget.

Applications are due: July 24th, 2022.

Grant funding assists county governments in rehabilitating their historic county courthouses.  Together with matching funds raised locally, this money will foster economic development in numerous communities while working to preserve public buildings vital to the architectural and cultural heritage of Washington.

To receive funding, all rehabilitation work must meet historic preservation standards known as the U.S. Secretary of the Interior’s Standards for the Treatment of Historic Properties.  For more information about these preservation standards, visit the following website.

Courthouse Grant Application

For more information on the program, consultation on completing the application, and general inquiries, please contact Huy Pham, Preservation Progam Director with the Washington Trust for Historic Preservation, at (206) 426-2999 or via email at


Washington State Courthouses

Adams County, 2013-15 grant   Asotin County
Benton County, 2013-15, 2019-21 grant   Chelan County
Clallam County, 2009-11, 2011-13, 2013-15 grant   Clark County, 2011-13, 2013-15 grant
Columbia County, 2005-07, 2011-13, 2019-21 grant   Cowlitz County, 2005-07 grant
Douglas County, 2005-07, 2009-11, 2013-15 grant    Ferry County, 2005-07, 2007-09, 2013-15 grant
Franklin County, 2005-07, 2013-15 grant   Garfield County, 2009-11 grant
Grant County, 2015-17, 2017-19 grant   Grays Harbor County
Island County   Jefferson County, 2005-07, 2009-11, 2013-15, 2019-21 grant
King County, 2007-09, 2013-15 grant   Kitsap County
Kittitas County   Klickitat County, 2007-09, 2011-13, 2019-21 grant
Lewis County, 2005-07, 2009-11, 2013-15, 2017-19, 2019-21, 2021-23 grant   Lincoln County
Mason County, 2007-209, 2011-13 grant   Okanogan County, 2013-15, 2021-23 grant
Pacific County, 2005-07, 2007-09, 201517, 2017-19 grant   Pend Oreille County, 2005-07, 2011-13 grant
Pierce County   San Juan County, 2005-07, 2007-09 grant
Skagit County, 2007-09 grant   Skamania County
Snohomish County, 2005-07, 2007-09 grant   Spokane County, 2007-09, 2009-11, 2011-13, 2013-15, 2015-17, 2019-21 grant
Stevens County, 2005-07, 2007-09, 2011-13 grant   Thurston County
Wahkiakum County, 2007-09 grant   Walla Walla County, 2009-11, 2021-23 grant
Whatcom County   Whitman County
Yakima County