Main Menu 1

You are here

Home » Historic Preservation » Preservation Topics » Courthouse Preservation Grant Program

Courthouse Preservation Grant Program

Garfield County Courthouse, PomeroyIn spring of 2005, the Washington State Legislature established the Historic County Courthouse Rehabilitation Grant program. Based on findings from a statewide survey undertaken in 2003, 33 of the state’s 39 counties were found to possess courthouses of historic and architectural merit.  Additionally, the study estimated over $90 million in needed capital improvements to these structures. To address this need, the Washington State Legislature has allocated over $18 million from the state capital budget since the 2005-07 biennium.  Through eight funding rounds since the program’s establishment, fifty-nine (59) grants have been awarded to twenty-six counties statewide. Grant funds have worked to leverage local funding resulting in nearly $45 million in total rehabilitation work to selected courthouses. 

Tenth Round of Historic County Courthouse Rehabilitation Grant Awards Announced

The Department of Archaeology & Historic Preservation along with the Courthouse Grant Program Steering Committee is seeking grant applications for the 2019-2021 biennium.  Projects should focus on rehabilitating character-defining features of courthouses while also addressing needs such as energy efficiency, life safety, seismic retrofits and improvements to access.  The Courthouse Steering Committee will review all applications received, prioritizing them based on the degree each meets the program criteria.  Distribution of grant awards will be contingent on program funds being allocated in the 2017-2019 Capital Budget.

Applications are due: Grant funds not avalible at this time.

Grant funding assists county governments in rehabilitating their historic county courthouses.  Together with matching funds raised locally, this money will foster economic development in numerous communities while working to preserve public buildings vital to the architectural and cultural heritage of Washington.

To receive funding, all rehabilitation work must meet historic preservation standards known as the U.S. Secretary of the Interior’s Standards for the Treatment of Historic Properties.  For more information about these preservation standards, visit the following website address:

Courthouse Grant Application

For more information on the program, consultation on completing the application, and general inquiries, please contact Chris Moore, Executive Director with the Washington Trust for Historic Preservation, at (206) 624-9449 or via email at


Washington State Courthouses

Adams County, 2013 grant   Asotin County
Benton County, 2013 grant   Chelan County
Clallam County, 2009, 2013 grant   Clark County, 2011, 2013 grant
Columbia County, 2006, 2011 & 2013 grant   Cowlitz County, 2005 grant
Douglas County, 2005, 2009 & 2013 grant    Ferry County, 2005, 2007 & 2013 grant
Franklin County, 2005 & 2013 grant   Garfield County, 2009 grant
Grant County, 2015 grant   Grays Harbor County
Island County   Jefferson County, 2005, 2009 & 2013 grant
King County, 2007 & 2013 grant   Kitsap County
Kittitas County   Klickitat County, 2009, 11 & 12 grant
Lewis County, 2005, 2009 & 2013 grant   Lincoln County
Mason County, 2007, 2011 grant   Okanogan County, 2013 grant
Pacific County, 2005, 2007 & 2015 grant   Pend Oreille County, 2006, 2012 grant
Pierce County   San Juan County, 2005 & 2007 grant
Skagit County, 2007 grant   Skamania County
Snohomish County, 2006 & 2009 grant   Spokane County, 2007, 09, 11, 13 & 15 grant
Stevens County, 2005, 07 & 11 grant   Thurston County
Wahkiakum County, 2007 grant   Walla Walla County, 2006 grant
Whatcom County   Whitman County
Yakima County